ERAC's staff are working remotely. Business hours remain 8:00am to 5:00pm Monday through Friday and staff are available by phone or email during that time. 
More information here.

The Environmental Review Appeals Commission (ERAC) hears and resolves appeals resulting from various technical and legal final actions taken by the Director of the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, the Director of the Ohio Department of Agriculture, the State Fire Marshal, the State Emergency Response Commission, and county and local boards of health.

The Commission has statewide jurisdiction and is the highest level of administrative appeal for final actions of the agencies listed above. Decisions of the Commission may be appealed to the Franklin County Court of Appeals or if the appeal arises from an alleged violation of a law or regulation, to the court of appeals for the district in which the violation is alleged to have occurred.The Commission consists of three members appointed by the Governor for staggered six-year terms. Each member must have extensive experience in the fields of pollution control and abatement technology, ecology, public health, environmental law, and economics of natural resource development.

The Commission operates under the authority of Ohio Revised Code 3745.02-3745.06. The Commission’s rules are in Ohio Adm. Code Chapter 3746.

The Commission holds regularly scheduled meetings every Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday for consideration and review of all documents filed during the previous day(s). Prehearing conferences, status conferences, oral arguments, and de novo hearings may be held any day(s) of the week.


Melissa M. Shilling, Chair

Michael G. Verich, Vice-Chair

Thomas W. Johnson, Member


Julie A. Slane, Executive Director

Jonathan J. Hsu, Program Administrator