Frequently Asked Questions
Where are you located?
77 South High Street, 17th Floor, Columbus, OH 43215
How much is the fee to file a Notice of Appeal?
In accordance with Ohio Revised Code Section 3745.02, a $70.00 filing fee must be included with the Notice of Appeal.
Do you accept cash?
The Commission does not accept cash. Checks or money orders should be made payable to Treasurer of the State of Ohio.
How many copies of documents are required for filing?
The Commission requires an original and four (4) copies of all documents filed in each case. If the party filing wishes to have a copy returned, please include an extra copy with the filing. The Commission will time-stamp and return it. If the filing is to be delivered via U.S. Postal Service, you must include a self-addressed, stamped envelope with the filing.
Do you accept filings electronically or by fax?
No. Filings must be hand-delivered or sent via the U.S. Postal Service or another carrier.
During what hours do you accept filings?
The Commission office is open to accept filings from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Do I need an attorney?
You may represent yourself, however, you can not represent any other person, entity, company, organization, or association, unless you have been admitted to practice law by the Supreme Court of Ohio. You are obligated to follow all rules and procedures of the Commission.
Where can I get a copy of your rules?
Our rules are available on our Rules page or by contacting our office.
What is the deadline for filing an appeal?
Pursuant to Ohio Revised Code section 3745.04, any appeal must be filed within 30 days after notice of the action. Appeals brought pursuant to Ohio Revised Code 3745.07, must be filed within 30 days of the issuance of the action. Click on the link “How to File an Appeal” for more information.
May I call the Commission for assistance?
Yes. You may call the Commission’s staff for assistance, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Staff may answer procedural questions. However, staff cannot give you legal advice or answer questions related to the substance of your appeal. Finally, in accordance with OAC 3746-3-09 a Commission member may only discuss cases when all parties are present.
What happens if I decide to withdraw my appeal?
An Appellant may dismiss an appeal by filing a motion for dismissal in accordance with OAC 3746-5-28 at any time during the appeal process.
Does the filing of a Notice of Appeal stop the action being appealed?
No. The filing of an appeal does not automatically suspend or stay execution of the action being appealed. For information regarding the procedures relating to filing a motion for stay, see OAC 3746-5-13 and 3746-5-14.